WITI Hall of Fame

1997 Inductees

Fran Allen Fran Allen
IBM Fellow, IBM

Carol Bartz Carol Bartz
Executive Chairman of the Board, Autodesk

Shaunna F. Black Shaunna F. Black
Vice President, Texas Instruments

Pamela Meyer Lopker Pamela Meyer Lopker
President and Chairman of the Board, QAD

Marcia Neugebauer Marcia Neugebauer
Distinguised visiting scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

ENIAC Programmers ENIAC Programmers
Kathleen McNulty, Mauchly Antonelli, Jean Jennings Bartik, Frances Synder Holber, Marlyn Wescoff Meltzer, Frances Bilas Spence and Ruth Lichterman Teitelbaum

Donna Shirley Donna Shirley
Retired, Manager, Mars Exploration Program

Patty Stonesifer Patty Stonesifer
Chief Exective Officer, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Patricia M. Wallington Patricia M. Wallington
President, CIO Associates, Sarasota, Florida

Rosalyn S. Yalow Rosalyn S. Yalow
Nobel Laureate,

Previous Inductees
























Featured Profile

Carol Bartz

Carol Bartz

Executive Chairman of the Board, Autodesk

Inducted in: 1997

Carol Bartz is executive chairman of the board of Autodesk, Inc. Bartz was chairman, president and CEO of Autodesk for 14 years and stepped-down in April, 2006. During her tenure, the company diversified its product line and grew revenues from $285 million to $1.523 billion in FY06.

Bartz previously held positions at Sun Microsystems, most recently serving as vice president of worldwide field operations and an executive officer of the company. Before joining Sun, she held product line and sales management positions at Digital Equipment Corporation and 3M Corporation.

Appointed to President Bush's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, Bartz is one of a select group of industry leaders expected to play a key role in shaping and setting the government's high tech agenda-ranging from R&D funding to new broadband incentives. She also serves on the Board of Directors of Cisco Systems, Network Appliance, and the Foundation for the National Medals of Science and Technology.

Bartz holds an honors degree in computer science from the University of Wisconsin. She was granted an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from the New Jersey Institute of Technology, an honorary Doctor of Science degree from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and an honorary Doctor of Letters degree from William Woods University.

Honors & Awards

- 50 Most Powerful Women in Business, Fortune, 2005
- 50 Women to Watch, Wall Street Journal, 2005
- The World's 30 Most Respected CEOs, Barron's, 2005
- World's 100 Most Powerful Women, Forbes, 2005 & 2004
- Exemplary Community Leadership Award, National Conference for Community & Justice, 2004
- Women in Technology List, Business Week, 2004
- 100 Most Influential Women in Business, San Francisco Business Times, 2004
- Spirit of Life Award, City of Hope, 2004
- Entered into the Congressional Record by Congresswoman Anna Eshoo, 2003
- Avatar Award for Women of Excellence, National Association of Female Executives, 2003
- Ada Lovelace Award, Association for Women in Computing, 2003
- Ernst & Young's Northern California Master Entrepreneur of the Year, 2001
- Horatio Alger Award, 2000
- Women in Technology International (WITI) Hall of Fame, 1997
- Recognized by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), 1994